Creating a 10 prim item that turns into 200

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3772 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I have been creating since 2004.  This is a first for me.  I will be making something and it will be about 10-20 prims.  Once I link these prims it suddenly turn into 100-200 prims.  I have unlinked and selected each item to link, I have tried unlinking and then linking two at a time and adding each together until attached.  Everything is fine until I get it all linked, then BAM 175 prims or something stupid like that.  I have even unlinked the item, taken it to another place, a sandbox, and linked again in everyway I can think of and same thing happens.  This has happened a few times now.  I am working with prims, sculpts and mesh.  Any help?

Prim count means nothing anymore.  Land Impact or LI is what counts.  What confuses the issue is that LI is labeled as prims still in viewers and on MP and a lot of mesh modelers give prim count rather than LI and very few give the actual dimensions of the mesh object at the LI they do give.

Here is how what happened happened.

• Linking mesh to sculpts turns the sculpts, normally counting as 1 LI, into counting as 2LI
  • Linking mesh to legacy prims that are tortured in any way causes LI to go up a lot
  • Resizing mesh larger increases its LI, sometimes A LOT*
  • Adding scripts to mesh items can cause a dramatic increase in LI
  • Adding materials texturing increases LI on all types of prims, sculpts and mesh.