Maxscript Help

Swobbly Minogue

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3829 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi,

This is not related to SL but I have leant so much from the folks in these forums over the years that I am going to ask for help here anyway as you guys rock! 

I am currently studying a design course that includes a Maxscript unit. So far things are just not "clicking" which is slowing my learning. This problem is confounded by the fact that my lecturer has very poor English and even when he explains things in great detail, it leaves many of his students befuddled. I am really hoping someone will be kind enough to spare some time here to help me out.

Anyway, here is my specific problem:

Initially I had to write a script that uses a 'for' loop to create 100 boxes at random positions. I did this (as you will see below).

I then have to create a rollout with a button that when pressed, executes the above mentioned 'for' loop. I Did that.

I then need to add a spinner that would allow the user to set how many random boxes are generated when the button is pressed. This is where I am having issues. I cannot work out how to link the spinner to the button to achieve the desired result. If someone could help with this then that would be great.

After I have the spinner working I need to do the following: Add a 'dice roll' stopping condition, using a 20 sided dice. So the script stops looping if a 20 is rolled. There is a second stopping condition too, and that is if the number of boxes specified by the the user have been created then the script needs to stop. If neither of these conditions are true then the script will keep looping until a condition is met. I have no idea how to go about writing this, so any help would be much appreciated.

Here is what I have written so far:

[CODE]

resetMaxFile #noprompt --resets the scence without a prompt

try (destroydialog myrollout) catch ()