Windows 8 SL Crashes upon login

Zhenpo

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3825 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I have a high end gaming computer. Fresh install of windows 8 pro 64-bit. 8GB ram, 120gb SSD for the OS, 500GB standard HD for storage, ATI Radeon HD 7950 3GB graphics card. Wired 20Mbps download 2Mbps upload. Windows is up to date, Drivers all up to date. Everything's up to date. I'm brand new to SL, Signed up, seen premium said "sure why not" Downloaded viewer, it crashes. Thought hmm. Maybe it was a fluke.. Start back up it crashes over and over and over. Looked through the forums for solutions, Tried the whole %appdata% thing doesn't work. About to go ask for a refund, and put SL on my ignored list of programs to never download. Unless anyone else has some ideas?

Hm, I'm not an expert on ATI graphics (heck, I'm no expert on anything really) but I heard the last couple of ATI drivers are kinda incompatible with SL. Maybe just try to install an older driver and try again. And/or install a third party viewer (Firestorm, Singularity ...) and see if they'll treat you better than LL's own krappola viewer.

Further, why did you go premium? The benefits are small and it only makes sense if you're planning on owning lots of land. I went 4 years in game on a basic account until I finally got the stupid  idea that I need a home of sorts. I'm still not spending much time there anyway and have just tiered down and will probably go back to basic acc in the forseeable future.

Zhenpo wrote:

I'll give firestorm a try and let you know, and I like I said I don't know much about SL but 10 a month is cheap so I figured Id give it a shot.

FYI, it`s free.

All you get for $10 is a simple house you have to sign up for or 512sqm tier free land (you will still have to buy the land) and slightly better support...

And you get roughly half that $10 a month back in the 300L$ per week you receive.