Anyone know what kind of server and memory the sims run on? class 701, 801 doesn't say much :)

Aztral Aeon

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3857 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Anyone know what kind of CPU and memory the sims run on? class 701, 801 doesn't say much :)

The reason I am asking is given the new TOS (LL can now sell your uploaded works/products!), and given that SL continues to lose sims (48 just last week ~ 48*200 = $9600/mo loss of revenue right there) so i am looking into other 3D worlds like OSGrid, Kitely,etc.

From my research I've found that full SL sims use one core, homesteads 3 per core, opensims 4 or more core (then one core reserved for misc processing). But one core of which chip? What kinda clock rate does that core run at?

As a web developer I already have a dedicated server provider, and they have good rates. Now I am considering having them fire up another one for me, then I'll install Opensim, use one sims for me and possibly start renting sims myself.

So making sure the current processors they have can run sims effectively is important. That's why i said class 701, 801, etc. is meaningless :) Well, meaningless without an association like class 801 is quad xeon running at 3ghz, or whatever.

Which CPU or clockrate IS the important part

2 answers to this question

Anyone know what kind of CPU and memory the sims run on? class 701, 801 doesn't say much :)

The reason I am asking is given the new TOS (LL can now sell your uploaded works/products!), and given that SL continues to lose sims (48 just last week ~ 48*200 = $9600/mo loss of revenue right there) so i am looking into other 3D worlds like OSGrid, Kitely,etc.

From my research I've found that full SL sims use one core, homesteads 3 per core, opensims 4 or more core (then one core reserved for misc processing). But one core of which chip? What kinda clock rate does that core run at?