Furry Mesh Head Help

Scar12166

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3870 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So I am rather new to the entire 3D Modeling area, I took a college course which used Maya, but of course Blender was a complete change for me.

For the past week or so I have been working on a mesh head of my character I created.

This is my progress..

Scarhead.jpg

The seam on the lower jaw is actually where it is separated to add Talk and chat motion, but I had a few questions (An any criticism on the actual head would be great.) regarding the options I am not sure how will work in SL and I can't find exact tutorials on it.

-I wanted it to blink and I know I you have to do it with invisible motions, but I can't find any help regarding on how to get that set up to work with a script.

-Secondly, it currently is made up of 18,432 Tris. Is that sort of high for a furry mesh head, if so, where could I find some info on decreasing it? I have it rezed in Sub surf 2, any lower makes it look tacky and blocky. Going kinda with both questions, the head will also have separate ears, fur tufts for cheek and back of the head area, does that also go against the Tris count and does that bring up issues with which bone they will be attached to or will it also require scripting.

Alternatively, if anyone can point me at a good tutorial for any of the questions, please link them. I have spent hours searching for help on a lot of this with no avail.

Two levels of subdivision multiply thye triangle count by about 16 times. It is likely that the vast malority of that is completely  uneccesary.

First, did you apply smooth shading (Select all; Mesh->Faces->Shade smooth) before subdividing? If not, you should always do so.  It is a common mistake to rely on subsrf with flat shading to obtain smooth looking surfaces. That is very wasteful.