how do I streamI would like to do my song live on here im a reggae artist and rap artist

ten30theartist

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3882 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

9 answers to this question

Until Karen, our resident expert, comes along, read http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Streaming_Music to get some background.  That page may answer most of your basic question.  If any of it is confusing or leaves you wanting to know more, click on the Options link in the upper right corner of your question and select EDIT. Please do not start a new thread. Doing that makes it hard for us to see what other people have already suggested, and it pushes other residents' questions off the page.

One thing to note, which is at the start of the link Rolig provided, is that your streaming server/relay has to be able to maintain a stream of data to EACH person who is listening.  The technical bit is that you don't send your sound into SL, you just send the connection information to SL.  Each person listening then gets this information from SL and connects directly (it's like a sound-only web page) to your stream.

Sending text to lots of people is easy for any stable broadband connection.  Sending live sound is much more demanding, hence the strong recommendation, if not requirement, for a host/relay.  The situation is even worse for films and, predictably, films with sound - most people's broadband would struggle to stream films to even one other person, which is why YouTube and the 'video on demand' sevices have such massive infrastructure setup costs.

It can be really simple though, at the cost of some reliability and quality: how about just turning on voice in your viewer and singing?  That's free and will let you get started without needing anything extra :-)

• Like 1

Hey There Ten30theartist,