Sign in to follow this  
tweetiepah

Question: Average Poly budget for mesh Avatar

I'm working on a full avatar here and i'm wondering what's my poly budget for each level of detail.  My head base mesh, including the neck, is 212 faces (424 tris).  I plan on uploading that as my lowest lod, and sucessive sculpted subdivisions of that base mesh as the higher levels of detail -- meaning the higest level of detail, subdivided twice, would be 3392 faces (6784 tris).  I plan on the full body avatar being around 15k faces (30k tris) at the highest level of detail.  I'm new to second life and most of the information i've found seems to be outdated.  Is my avatar reasonable, or do I need to lower my budget?

I personally consider ~10k tris (Yes, tris, not quads) to be the ideal polycount for the highest LOD. That tends to be enough to get a good silhouette, and not be an impossible challenge to get all-quad.

For example, the newborn avatar I'm working on has less than 10k tris and looks like this:Capture.PNG

The matcap is a poor simulation of how smooth it will look when materials/textures are applied in game. The normal maps will give it back the detail I sculpted in. Basically, it'll look as good as a model with double it's poly count.

So to sum it all up, I shoot for 10k and am happy as long as I stay under 15k. 20k would be my max, and that would be for something with wings or four arms or something else crazy.

I hope someone else will chime in about the lower LODs, because I'm not too knowledgeable on that aspect.

• Like 1

Thanks for your reply.   The head, after one subdivision, is 1696 tris, and I feel it looks good enough (see below for a rough idea).  If i created the full avatar at this detail I would be well within your proposed budget (and like you, I do intend on including normal maps).