Animation : Shifting weight on legs and breathing natural in a sabre fencing stance

Alexander Causten

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3959 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello all,

Ive been making a stance for a sabre and so far it's come out alright, the whole stance is now to a point where I want to add in breathing and life to it - only one problem, I pin both feet to the floor ( I should mention im using DazStudio) and use the hip to sway the legs, only when it comes to placing this into SL, it just looks as if im sliding. I attempted the same with animating the legs to shuffle, but this also causes my feet to go through the floor or levitate for a moment, looks downright awful.

Anyway, im a noob at this whole animating thing, I think it just might be a rookie mistake.
Could anyone help based on the information ive given?

Have you imported the bones/model of the avatar to Daz? If not you are working with more bones than SL has available which will explain the difference in animation. Google and find the model to import, use that. You may have to rework your animation :| But it will be more accurate to what you see in Daz next time you bring it to SL

Im using the SL base avatar that I downloaded. The naim for just simply holding and posing imports fine, but Im looking to add more natural breathing and weight shifting into it, the only problem im having is that just pinning the feet and moving the body up and down to put more weight on the legs tends to have, glitchy results.

Such as the feet clipping through the floor and such

What is usually animated with the breathing anims?

Would the chest be moved forwards and back to a beat and the legs would move ever so slightly?

Just need a push in the right direction so I can 'see' it.