NVidia OpenGL error

cardude44

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3713 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So I'm new to SL, and every time I try to launch the viewer, it crashes within seconds with mention of an OpenGL error. I've done some research, and it seems that this is not related to my hardware but rather an issue with the viewer. I've updated my NVidia drivers from 314 to 320.18 and the problem persists.

My specs:

ASUS G51JX-A1

Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

NVidia GeForce GTS 360M

6 GB RAM

Intel i7 Q 720 quad core

500 GB HDD

Any ideas on what I can do to resolve this issue?

cardude44 wrote:

So I'm new to SL, and every time I try to launch the viewer, it crashes within seconds with mention of an OpenGL error. I've done some research, and it seems that this is not related to my hardware but rather an issue with the viewer. I've updated my NVidia drivers from 314 to 320.18 and the problem persists.

My specs:

ASUS G51JX-A1

Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

NVidia GeForce GTS 360M

6 GB RAM

Intel i7 Q 720 quad core

500 GB HDD

Any ideas on what I can do to resolve this issue?

Are you sure your nVidia Card is running? Your Machine has got a second, on-board graphics card too, you might have to deactivate that on board  graphics and activate the nVidia  graphics in your Bios Settings. Look up your user's manual for information on this.

J.

Look in your nVidia control panel and set up a game setting for SL. Be sure to set the game for performance.

Laptops are set by default to use Power Savings. You have to change that. By using the nVidia Control Panel you can have the power savings most of the time and performance when running SL.

Part of power savings is to turn OFF the nVidia graphics chip and use the motherbords low power consumption built in business graphics.