Flycam with mouse and keyboard?

Gwyneth Llewelyn

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2303 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

After trying all sorts of external controllers — Wiimote, Nanchuck, two Wacom tablets, even an Apple Mouse — all of which are claimed to work as "Joystick FlyCam" — the results were quite uniformly disappointing: NOTHING WORKS. :smileyfrustrated:

However, a few very old tutorials claim that you can use FlyCam without a joystick, i.e. just using keyboard & mouse. I'd be more than happy with that, to be honest. If it worked.

Not only the options for turning on "Joystick FlyCam" are off, but nothing on the "Devices" panel is active.

So, how to enable non-joystick FlyCam? Is it a Debug Setting somewhere?

19 answers to this question

I have zero experience with FlyCam (or with joysticks), so I don't have words of personal wisdom to share.  The only SL resource that I'm aware of is the wiki entry at http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Joystick_Flycam which has had no modifications since 2011 until --- surprisingly -- last Sunday.  You might try contacting Zion Tristan, who made that change.  Maybe he knows something.

Flycam works very well with the Logitech Attack 3 joystick once it is set up correctly. You can still buy the Attack 3 on Ebay or Amazon. Don't pay more than $30. This is my setup for this joystick:

Joystick – Enable Check – Logitech Attack 3 Joystick
Joystick – 3D  Uncheck
Joystick – Both Avatar & FlyCam Checked, possibly only check FlyCam if that is all you want.

Joystick X = Sliding sideways is disabled with -1 mapping.
Joystick Y = Helicoptering straight up and down is disabled with -1 mapping.
Joystick Z = Axis 2  moving forward (engine) scale 3.00 when flying, dead zone 0.15 for both flying and avatar.
Joystick Pitch = Axis 1
Joystick Yaw = Axis 0
Joystick Roll = -1 disabled.
Joystick Zoom = -1 disabled.