Flycam with mouse and keyboard?

Gwyneth Llewelyn

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1644 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I have zero experience with FlyCam (or with joysticks), so I don't have words of personal wisdom to share.  The only SL resource that I'm aware of is the wiki entry at http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Joystick_Flycam which has had no modifications since 2011 until --- surprisingly -- last Sunday.  You might try contacting Zion Tristan, who made that change.  Maybe he knows something.

19 answers to this question

I have zero experience with FlyCam (or with joysticks), so I don't have words of personal wisdom to share.  The only SL resource that I'm aware of is the wiki entry at http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Joystick_Flycam which has had no modifications since 2011 until --- surprisingly -- last Sunday.  You might try contacting Zion Tristan, who made that change.  Maybe he knows something.

Flycam works very well with the Logitech Attack 3 joystick once it is set up correctly. You can still buy the Attack 3 on Ebay or Amazon. Don't pay more than $30. This is my setup for this joystick:

Joystick – Enable Check – Logitech Attack 3 Joystick
Joystick – 3D  Uncheck
Joystick – Both Avatar & FlyCam Checked, possibly only check FlyCam if that is all you want.

Joystick X = Sliding sideways is disabled with -1 mapping.
Joystick Y = Helicoptering straight up and down is disabled with -1 mapping.
Joystick Z = Axis 2  moving forward (engine) scale 3.00 when flying, dead zone 0.15 for both flying and avatar.
Joystick Pitch = Axis 1
Joystick Yaw = Axis 0
Joystick Roll = -1 disabled.
Joystick Zoom = -1 disabled.

Hi. Yes you can use the mouse and keyboard if you're just looking to help with depth-of-field photography issues.

After a lot of searching I found this in Firestorm:

1) Go to cameratools -->> 3D Mouse tab -->> Enable 3D mouse (Doesn't require a 3D mouse !)