Gender related question?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3919 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hey everybody I’m a student doing a research project on the gender bending experience in online gaming and I would like to ask anyone who is interested some questions on the subject. You don’t have to answer all the questions just the ones you are comfortable with.

My definition of gender bending: players who create a virtual identity of their opposite sex

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Questions for people who don’t gender bend

Why do you think that people want to play as their opposite gender on an online game?

How do you think people respond to players who are not the gender they play as? How would you respond?

Do you think people who gender bend are forth coming or do they wait to be asked?

Questions for people who do gender bend

What is your reason for gender bending?

What is the reaction that you get when you tell people your real gender is the opposite of your virtual gender?

When you play a new game do you automatically do it without thinking?

Question for everyone.

How do you think the playing experiences differ between playing as a male or female avatar?

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Because I have a fine mood at the momen, I'll answer (we nearly drown in more good or bad surveys at the moment...I think you are number 3...just today):

Why do you think that people want to play as their opposite gender on an online game?

- Could be more than one reason. The two that I hear the most: 1. To play a certain role in a roleplaygame 2. Because race/class X looks better with gender ABC.

How do you think people respond to players who are not the gender they play as? How would you respond?