Prim Tassels

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4171 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello,

I'm new to second life creating so I'm sorry if this question comes off as silly or uninformed, but I was wondering if anyone had any advice on how to make a prim tassel (I included some pictures below). Is it possible to do this with a flexi prim and an alpha layer, or can this only be done with a mesh?

http://shop.stelladot.com/style/media/catalog/product/g/i/gitane_with_tassel_necklace_gold.jpg

http://www.tasseldepot.com/assets/images/categories/chainette.jpg

Thank you!

You should be able to do this with flexible prims and a nice tassle texture.  But, please be aware when making the tassle, if you use a prim for each strand of the tassle will add to the prim count of your total item.  Last time I used one, I think I used a scuplted tassel I purchated from SL Marketplace in order to keep the prim count down. I believe I have seen one on MP that is made of mesh as well. However, the sculpted and mesh ones will not sway or move.

You might wish to play around with cut cyclinders and flexing them....add your own texture. Here is a couple of links that might be helpful if you are not familiar with working with flexible prims.

http://www.atomcrafts.com/Tutorials/Prim_Clothes/include/05_Making_a_Flexi_Skirt_Panel.html

http://www.mermaiddiaries.com/2007/07/day-286-creating-flexi-prims-tutorial.html