Second Life Questionnaire for University

mh1284

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4072 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi there,

I am a student at Bournemouth University currently studying Interactive Media Production. I am conducting research into identity online, with specific focus on games such as Second Life, and the role identity has in virtual worlds.

If you could posiblily spend 5 minutes filling out my short questionnaire, it would be greatly apprectated. It is 100% anoynmous and the answers are mainly multiple choice, with the option of explaining your answers further if you desire.

If you have any questions I would be happy to answer them! This is not spam, and 100% genuine, I hope you can help me out.

Link to questionnaire - http://tinyurl.com/berxnoo

Thanks again

Marybeth Cooperstone wrote:

Done.

This survey seems to be very legitimate and brings back memories of the surveys we conducted (with clip boards at the shopping centers) 100 years ago when I was in school
:)

Good luck in your university program.

Marybeth

Shopping Center? What's a shopping center? The shopping place I remember from 100  years ago looked like this:

general store.jpg

ETA: Done

Thank you to those of you who completed it, really does help. When researching into Second Life, it may be interesting reading what others have written about it in books and reading a page of statistics, but hearing first hand from those who really take part in the game day in day out is just as useful!

Thanks again :)

VRprofessor wrote:

In particular see section 10 regarding informed consent.

As no identifying information is requested, how would consent be given?

From Sec. 10: "This does not apply to survey research however which by its return is accepted as an expression of consent to participate".

This appears to be "survey research" and therefore either Sec. 10 or the entire document does not apply.