How do I convert Moven's mocap BVH files for SL?

guyjiin

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4075 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm a newbie to SL...I have a Moven motion capture suit and can export the motion as a BVH file.  How do I convert this motion into a usable character motion for SL characters?

I made a poor attempt at using bvh hacker, but failed.  If you can shed light on this process, I would appreciate the help.

I do animations but not mocap animations.  Hopefully another forum member who does mocaps can give you additional information and some tips.  But here is some general information.

I assume you used the correct bones and joints for the SL avatar when you created your BVH file.  If you didn't you may want to spend time reading the SL Wiki to learn creating an animation for SL and about all the things you need to do before you import your file into SL. 

You import it into SL using Upload>animation.  However SL will only upload animations that are a maximum of 30 seconds of unique frames.  If your animation is longer than this you will need to split it up then upload each segment then use a script to play them in order.  Even if it 30 seconds, you will need a script to use it inworld in a pose ball.

If you know nothing about scripting, this link will given you information about LSL Scripts for animations.

Of course if you are going to sell them to builders, you can just sell the animation and the builder will have the scripts needed to use it.  But if you are going to sell it on the retail market you will need to script it and put it in a pose ball.

guyjiin wrote:

I'm a newbie to SL...I have a Moven motion capture suit and can export the motion as a BVH file.  How do I convert this motion into a usable character motion for SL characters?

I made a poor attempt at using bvh hacker, but failed.  If you can shed light on this process, I would appreciate the help.