Difference between GT650 and GTX 650 videocards

friscolives

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4075 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I currently have a GT630 video card (Geforce)

I'm thinking of upgrading, and saw a nice sale (I think its a good one) on a GTX 650 for about $140,) I'm not an expert on video cards by any stretch. Would this be a good improvement for running Second life? I'm sure sure what the difference between the GT and the GTX cards are, but usually the GTX seem quite a bit more costly.

A sort of deep Google search found this site:

http://techtips.salon.com/difference-between-gts-gtx-nvidia-video-cards-29181.html

After reading several articles I arrived at the same conclusion that I've held for a very long time.........it really doesn't mean much beyond "bragging rights" for the hard core gamers.  Here's a summation that seems to be the concenus:

----------------------------------------------------

Considerations

When choosing a video card, it's best to look deeper than the GPU number -- especially if you're trying to hit a "sweet spot" between price and performance. Take a look at the number of processor cores, the MHz speed of the GPU, the memory bandwidth and all of the other detailed specs. In general, however, whether the GPU is called GT, GTS or GTX makes very little difference.

----------------------------------------

If you find a card that fits your budget and it happens to be a GTX then go for it....if not, you won't see any noticible difference between a GT, GTS or GTX.