How To Start Building Bows? (Weapons)

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4172 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hey everyone!

I'm an amateur scripter, but recently decided to try my hand in building. More specifically bows; compound, crossbows, etc. and I honestly don't know where to start looking. I bought 3DS Max/Maya (2012) to force myself to try my hardest to take building seriously, and would like some advice from some of you seasoned builders.

If there are any weapon specific libraries or learning resources where I could learn specifics in regards to weapons and bows, that would be very much appreciated as well. I would like some ideas on how some of you go about building bows/weapons specifically, though, so that I have a better understanding of the ups and downs and 'habits' to get into.

Thank you very much. :manvery-happy:

You bought both Max and Maya?  They're US$3500 each.  I certainly hope a $7000 expenditure would, as you put it, "force you to take building seriously."  I'd hate to think you won't stick with it, and you just threw that amount of money out the window.  (If that's pocket change to you, throw some of it my way!)

May I ask why you got both?  Most people use one the other.  It's pretty rare that one would have cause to use both. 

Of course, some professionals do use both, so they can get more work.  If you get hired by a studio that is tightly dependent on a Maya-centric pipeline, for example, and you only know Max, or vice versa, you might not be able to do the job in the way they need.  If you're doing that kind of work, it behooves you to know both programs intimately.  If that's your goal, fantastic.  I'd suggest you pick one to start with, though.  Use it for at least six months, and then begin the other.  Trying to learn both at once, from scratch, is nearly impossible.