Need help with my trap door

BlacksunN8

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4375 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

hi all^^

im trying to code a trap door script. not a usual one. so since i'm quite new to scripting plus i don't really know if that what i want to do is possible at all i would need some help please.

want i want is a trap door that turns phantom when somebody is standing on that door longer than lets say 30 seconds. If the avatar moves on in less than 30 seconds it should not turn phantom. When turned to phantom it should be phantom for only 5 seconds and then turn back to non phantom.

Ok my question are, is that possible at all ? And if yes would you tell me please what i'm missing? Here is the snippet i'm currently working with.

{
    state_entry()
    {
        llSetStatus (STATUS_PHANTOM, FALSE);
    }
    collision_start(integer total_number)
    {
         llSetTimerEvent(30.0);
    }

timer()
    {
        llSetTimerEvent(0.0);
        llSetStatus (STATUS_PHANTOM, TRUE);
        llSleep (5);
        llSetStatus (STATUS_PHANTOM, FALSE);
    }

}

This just does what i want, it turns the door to phantom and back but no matter if the avatar is still standing on the door or not.
 Thanks in advance for help ^^

Your trap door is certainly possible, but you'll need several things to make it effective.

When an avatar collides with the prim, start a timer. As I recall volume detect can also detect when an avatar stops colliding with the prim. So if the script senses that the avatar stopped colliding with the prim before the timer runs out, your script can have nothing happen. If they are still colliding, send a signal to trigger the trap.