How do I play a gesture from script? /sneeze, /cough, /bow?

Mejamz

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1763 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Hello, I am a noob to SL. I am a student at a university trying to develop a new project and I am unable to figure this out...

I have created the gesture /sneeze and I would like to automate a script to play the /sneeze every couple of hours automatically without a voice trigger. How do I script a gesture to play from a script? Typing in the chat window to play a gesture is not sufficient, I need to use a script to call any gesture.

Do I need to create a special animation then place it in an object?

BTW: I need to use this gesture from an object to effect the avatar...

Please help, I have researched for three days and stugots... I Need HELP!!!

6 answers to this question

I'm not a scripter, but if you ask this question in the Scripting forum, you're more likely to find someone who is!

EDIT:  Woohoo, good one, Rolig!  I will add that you can also drop a script into an object to play a sound, as well as the animation that Rolig shows.  That would add the all-important "AH-CHOO!" to the result.

Gestures and scripts are different beasts.  If you have an animation that you want to activate at random intervals, you'll probably do best to write a small AO script, pop it into a HUD, and wear it.  It doesn't need to be anything fancy.   Just enough to run a timer and trigger the animation automatically.

This is just off the top of my head and not tested in world, but something like this ought to work ...