Firestorm Viewer Wont Open

Aiden Mistwood

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2051 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've been using Firestorm on my macbook perfectly for the last 3 months... All of a sudden today out of the blue when I try to open it from my desktop my macbook gives me this message.. "Firestorm quit unexpectedly. Click Reopen to open the application again. Click Report to see more detailed information and send a report to Apple." I've deleted the viewer and reinstalled it 3 times with no success. I downloaded Phoenix viewer just to see what would happen and it opened fine, but dear god the graphics are so bad on that thing!!!!!! I've been reading around the forums and there is a lot of people having the same or similar problems as myself but most seem to deal with windows. Anyone have any idea whats going on here? My firestorm will literally not even open up to the log in page once I double click on the desktop that error message comes up. 

Any help would be appreciated!

...something had to change. If you have auto-update on that could be it.

You don't say whether you did a clean install or not. If you just installed over the top of the old version, it may be a settings issue. 

Try resetting the viewer settings to their default values.

1. Navigate to the user settings for the viewer.
  2.                 Win7/Vista: C:\Users\<win_login_id>\AppData\Roaming\SecondLife\user_settings
  3.                 Mac OSX: Users/Username/Library/Application Support/SecondLife//
  4. Find the file: settings.xml and rename or delete it.

If you are having a video card/driver problem this may fix the problem.

If the viewer will show the login screen, open Preferences (Ctrl-P) and set the Preferences->Graphics to LOW. Then try logging in.