Concern with uploading textures

Sunou

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4314 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I know how to upload textures, at least I think I do, but this is my first time and I have a bit of a concern.

The texture I want to upload looks like: this

However, when I click the preview options, it looks like: this

Is this normal for it to look different in the preview? Or is there something I'm missing/need to fix before I click the Upload button?

EDIT:

I tried logging into the Beta Server (Aditi) but it took me to another area. Apparently it is down?

The template I am trying to use is one of a few skin textures that I wanted to use for my avatar. It was provided in a box set, among other editable textures, from an avatar I had bought. I had simply changed the colors. The default textures for that avatar, which look exactly the same except a different color, work fine. This is why I'm wondering if I am coloring the textures wrong somehow.

I'm still a bit confused-- even if I were able to use Aditi, I still am not sure how to fix the problem. Also, I'm using the default SL viewer.

How do I save with alpha channels? This may actually be the issue, since my textures show up in grayscale instead of the color I wanted.. Sorry for such noobish questions.

EDIT 2:

Thanks very much for that section about alpha layers and the tutorial, but when I followed all of the steps for Photoshop Elements, the skin still has the same miscoloration in the preview. I'm not sure what else to try at this point. I'm almost tempted to upload the texture anyway and hope that the preview is just wrong. But I really don't want to waste the $L...

EDIT 3: