Cannot login...

addy2k11

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4327 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am still relatively new to Second Life (I joined last October) and I have had no problems logging in until today.

Yesterday my laptop had a few problems so I had to restore the factory settings, I got round to reinstalling the Second Life viewer about 10 minutes ago and have been unable to login.

When I try it says "Login failed. Despite out best efforts, something unexpected has gone wrong." It then asks me to check to see if there is a problem with the service, as far as I can see everything seems to be working fine. So the only thing left is my firewall but I do not know how to make changes to that and when I look at the list of allowed and unallowed programs Second Life is not there. The uninstall Second Life program is so I added that to the allowed programs but still no joy.

What could be happening and where could I be going wrong?

I didn't need to change any settings when I installed the viewer and set up my account last October. I just logged in straight away and it worked first time! 

LL is gonna send one of the shills to tell you this is your connection or outdated equpiment like they have several others this week.

I am however convinced even more so now it is an LL issue of which they wish to cover up for what ever reason cause they have no clue how to fix it yet.

The technical term for Iam is wackadoole...

The first thing to test is your connection. I have been logging in and out between AGNI and ADITI all day and not having a problem. Run these tests and figure out if it is you, SL or one of the ISP's inbetween that has a problem. If it is not a connection issue you can move on to other tests.

Troubleshoot Your #SL Connection

I Can’t Login - This covers some oddball SL problems like ghost avatars and how to do your own ghost busting.