Understanding LODs

Spinell

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4335 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello everyne. I need some help fixing a mesh I did in blender 2.63

I uploaded it and textured it ingame with no problem but when I zoom out the mesh becomes blocky and distorted, like a sculpty. Now, what botehrs me is not that, I work with sculpties often, but when it distorts, it messes up the texture I applied really badly: it's as if it has chops of white splattered over it. ANd it can very, very distracting.

At first, I thought the problem was the texture, but my help group told me it was the LOD. However, I've never worked with this before so I'm not sure how to fix it.

The most helpful indication I got was from here: http://wiki.alternativaplatform.com/Blender_Alternativa_Addon_-_Using_LOD

I know it's not specific to SL, but if this is the way to fix problems with LOD, I want to ask: what distance should I put?

The mesh itself is a sort of headress, so it's small and stands on top of your head.

You seem to be confusing the issue.  The LOD container in your modeling program is just a database node used by the program itself.  It's essentially an organizational tool.  It has nothing to do with creating the four versions of your model required for SL.  SL has no way of knowing or caring whether any such a container exists in your modeling program scene.

What you need to do is create four separate versions of your model, at four different levels of detail, so that SL can use its own LOD system to swap between them.  When you upload to SL, you'll put the four models into their appropriate slots in the uploader dialog, and then SL itself will put them into a 'container' of its own, as the natural result of the upload process.  You won't be uploading any container nodes from Blender to SL, ever.