What video card do I need for SL?

jahnno

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3650 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am new to SL. I am not very familiar with computers but have been told my computer is too slow and too old for SL. I plan to buy a new one. On help island, very helpful people told me that the graphics card is the most important item along with a Core i7 for SL. However, I know nothing about video cards. Someone on help island gave me this chart of video cards to show me their Second Life performance. Which Amd or Nvidia card should I get? Are other brands like Microsoft or Logitech video cards less expensive? 

amd nvidia performance chart

Get the best card you can aford, and make sure the computer also has a decent processor and lots of RAM, and a very fast hardwired network connection.

SL is extremely graphics intensive, and has huge bandwidth requirements. A poor graphics card or a slow network connection can make it like swimming in tar - no fun at all.

Every place you go in Second Life is filled with user-generated content that can change at any time, so virtually nothing will be optimized or locally cached - unlike most 3D games, where the content is produced solely by an in-house team of graphics professionals who optimize everything and can pre-load most of the data to your local hard drive. 

Higher FPS is better, but you're running into what your eyeballs can tell the difference easily after 25 FPS, and what SL can deliver at 45 FPS.  Go with what you can afford, but anything rated past 45 FPS on that benchmark will be overkill.

I do appreciate the level of detail on the graph, though I'm curious which operating system they did this on, since you'll have lower framerates on platforms with no direct support for OpenGL (Windows) and lower again if you're not using a Windows Classic-based theme on versions that have Aero enabled by default (Vista, 7).