Where did my new avatar go?

MsFearless

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4366 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi all I am very new to sl so please bear with me. I bought a new avatar last night as my student avatar I signed up with was a bit boring, I also bought 3 new outfits all before logging in. I logged in, I found my items in boxes at the top right of my screen, found a sandbox to open them and did everything I had read I needed to do...I think. Dragged box to ground, clicked open, copied to inventory then clicked wear....nothing happened! I repeated this several times opening all 4 boxes over and over again, copied blah blah click wear and again I wear a box! I also can't find my new avatar...I have definitely got the outfits but no gorgeous new avatar I was hoping for. I don't understand what I need to do and I am really upset I spent 1000 and can't do anything with any of it. I really wish this part was more simple! Please can someone help me? I have contacted the avatar maker to explain I can't find it but think it may be gone forever and worse still the avatar I do have wont even wear the outfits I bought... Please don't send me a link on opening boxes, that part I have done so many times..I just don't understand when I click wear after copying to my inventory I still get a box stuck to me It's driving me mad!,, Thanks in advance for help :(

If you copy to inventory and then just right-click the box and Wear (without reopening the box and doing it that way), you'll end up wearing the box. Is it possible that's what you did?

Were they no-copy items? If so, they'll no longer be in the boxes that they came in but will be in folders (with the same name as the boxes) in your inventory (you would have gotten a popup that said they were no-copy and that they were going to be moved instead).

Relax - it'just takes getting used to - fortunately you're fearless ; )