Marketing Mesh to Merchants?

Fauxglove Silverweb

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4378 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm a freelance Mesh builder. Some of my best customers in the past have been merchants looking for new product to sell, and I'm looking to make deals with new clients now that I'm relying on this as a full-time job. As merchants yourselves, I was hoping you'd have some suggestions on how to best approach the topic. Would it be inappropriate to track a name down through a market listing and make a cold call? (If you happen to be interested yourself, you can see the stuff I've already done in mesh on faux-ink.tumblr.com . Plug plug! XD)

It really depends on the merchant.  Most merchants are content creators themselves and will create their own content or want to buy content that they can heavily customize or use as just part of a whole that  shows them as the creator  Personally i wouldn't be interested in buying a full item from you if it was fully textured or not.  However componants that I could customize and include as part of my own builds I may be interested in.

As far as actual contact, unless I asked to receive it, I would view it as spam and not only not look at it , but be angered that i was spammed. However  if you personally & politely IM and ask to set an appontment up to meet me to show me your work or ask if I'd be interested before sending me something, I may be more receptive. 

The best place to reach the most merchants without annoying them is selling your items through the marketplace or with an inworld store. If you only are going to do custom mesh, then a classified ad is your best bet.

Fauxglove Silverweb wrote:

. As merchants yourselves, I was hoping you'd have some suggestions on how to best approach the topic. Would it be inappropriate to track a name down through a market listing and make a cold call?