Avatarus Rex -- OMG Short Arm Syndrome!

Sassy Dirval

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4081 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm sure it bothers me more than most but I spent too many hours in figure drawing classes having proper proportions beat into my head.

If you look around SL, soooo many avatars suffer from short arm syndrome -- which is silly becuase it's the easiest proportion to get right:

"Your wrist should be even with the bottom of your crotch."

There.  All done.  Always perfect.  Now a lot of your aminations will suddenly look better and your hands won't disappear in your hips.  Men -- it's the same proportionately for you.

prop_female.gif

Hehe yes I was an art student and noticed the same thing early on as well.

I've seen far worse than just a little off, done intentionally and IMO it just looked like hell. Very much Avasaurus Rex as you describe. Normally though it's just a little off but noticable if you have this type of training. Makes it like trying not to think about 'elephant'. Or in this case, maybe chimpanzee :P

I've noticed on average breasts get exagerated too. Small inworld is like a C or D and a lot of avis I see just make me not want to see their chiropractor bill. Or lend them a wheelbarrow or something lol.

Hands too. Lots of big hands around.

and butts! OMG. It's like people go 'well my butt is bigger than that' so the only thing they change is the butt and nothing else and the avi is like 'woooomp' in the middle.

Then you get the opposite. That whole move to reconsile the fact that land distances do not jive with body measurements. To look right, you're going to be a little taller by what those measuring boxes say just because of how the people editor stretches and squashes certain things. Yea, you can nail the height down, if you don't mind a little dwarfism.

Sassy Dirval wrote: