Time for LL to implement Cloud computing?

Exavor Diesel

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4346 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Firstly, if you don't know anything about cloud computing, I advise clicking X because this won't make a lot of sense otherwise!

I think it's time land gets an overhaul on Second Life. It has used the same basic concept since its inception and it doesn't appear to be progressing with modern technologies. The best LL has done is improve server hardware over the years, but that's about it. The concept has remained the same throughout the years. 

I think it is time to jump on the cloud bandwagon. I'm really surprised this hasn't been done yet! Like many on SL, I work in IT and despite my dislike for the overused term "cloud computing", I can see how cloud computing could benefit SL. Cloud computing would allow for scalability. This is an area where SL is currently lacking, or rather, it has too many limitations & constraints. Cloud computing would allow estate owners to define the size of their region, meaning enhanced scalability and flexibility. In addition, it could also reduce the cost of provisioning. 

Larger region  = more cloud server resources

Smaller region = less cloud server resources

With the current technology in use, estate owners ofen find themselves constrained. For example, there's many popular clubs on SL (I'm referring to clubs which have dedicated regions) These clubs are often laggy* and there's nothing the estate owner/club owner can do about it. Even if they added another region, it wouldn't resolve the issue because it wouldn't allocate more server resources to the affected region/area. Cloud computing could be the answer to this. And this is just one example which shows how the cloud computing concept could benefit Second Life. 

*Not referring to render lag.