Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Myrylyn

A Proper News & Information Site for Serious Adult Play

24 posts in this topic

Hello, you sexy thing!

As a Second Life business owner, I'm really quite shocked that-- after 6 months of searching-- I've yet to find a blog or news server that caters to the more... enthusiastic... adult community. Everything I see seems to be dancing around the darker side of our Second Life explorations and fun... or avoiding it, in some profound excercise of hypocrisy.

No, offense, hard-core bloggers... but if you are out there... you're really, really hard to find.

I'm not talking about folks who are titilated by a passing glimpse of a woman's ankles or blush with coyness whenever they see another avatar ball-walking. I'm talking about serious play: Frenemy Fashions, Crowley Corporation, Dari's Haus, and so forth. I'm sure you have your own list of favorites as well. You know of love it. Even if you are occassionally shocked by what you see, it's important to your own self-development. I'll go here, but I won't go there. I totally respect that.

In any event, and as as a purveyor of things that could be labelled "fringe," I really find myself having to do an enormous amount of outreach to get the word out about my products-- as well as provide kudos and accolades for the works of other crafters. If I didn't have to spend so much time hawking my wares, I could pour that time into building more products.

That being said, I have to thank Linden Labs for a very excellent Marketplace experience. If fact, it's gotten so good that I fear for the region owners who rent out space for sales tiles and kiosks. My in-world kiosk is actually modelled after some of SLM's more exciting features (such as being able to host up to 8 pictures of each product) and allowing links to related blogs and movies. That kind of value-add is lovely. My primary Kiosk is located in the South Side Snakepit, incidentally.