**Survey** do skin/fashion creators in SL also have an interest in the beauty industry in RL?

Nidania Nightfire

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4773 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm taking a survey to get a feel for people's interests in-world vs. in real life.

For example, does someone who creates skins and clothing in Second Life also have the same interests in real life? (ie - working in fashion, or becoming a make-up artist)

I work in the beauty industry in real life and train people to become make-up artists and to earn an extremely good living in this field,  and the reason I'm doing this survey is because I always look for people who are PASSIONATE about the beauty industry and about helping other people look their best and bring out their true beauty. I'd really love to meet people passionate about this, and am looking for some ideas on how to meet people in SL with this passion.

From my own experience in Second Life I have found people who are very passionate in SL about this, and I'm curious if this reflects or spills over into their real life interests.

I look forward to your feedback.

Nidania

I don't know if the skillsets of RL fashion designers or makeup artists translate well to a platform like SL, but I read that Aimee Weber has worked in the RL fashion industry before she became a successful SL fashion creator. Many other fashion and skin designers are Photoshop pros who have been working in graphics design, web design, media design or preprint jobs. 3D design, game design and similar backgrounds have become useful too since sculpties hit the grid.

Thanks for the replies so far.  I'm actually more interested in knowing if people who have a passion for skins and fashion in Second Life (either as a creator, or just as someone who loves to buy these and look good in SL), if they also have a strong interest in these industries in real life.