New; Creating my avatar isn't going too well.

Hanapina

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3506 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm pretty new to Second Life - I've tried it twice in the past and the same thing always happens to me.

I get the shapes and skins and clothes and hair that I want... And nothing comes out right. Not only is everything a big mess and extremely confusing, but the face shapes/skins/whatever they're called are coming out completely different from the looks of the ones I downloaded. They're absolutely gorgeous - and when I put them on my avatar, it's all gross and completely different. Why is this happening? While they are mostly demos, shouldn't it be the correct face with "demo" splashed all over it? That's what I've seen from watching videos and finding pictures, anyway. 

Not to mention that hair isn't showing up on my avatar at all, and some body shapes won't let me unpack them - telling me to detach and "rez" them. I've done some searches on Google and come up mostly empty-handed, which is why I'm here. :smileyembarrassed:

Sorry if I sound like an idiot. Like I said, I'm new, and I don't understand why I can't do it like everyone else can without problems. Plus, I definitely want to make sure this can be fixed or I'm doing something wrong before spending my own money to purchase the real things.

Thanks. :heart:

Okay, the super duper quick (ish) version:

A SHAPE is the basic form of the avatar. A SKIN is the coloration of the avatar. This you probably knew.