Mesh

oAura

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3312 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'd like to know much about how to use mesh heads and body's along with appliers because as much as I try to figure it out when I'm in the shops my whole entire body turns white , if you have a resource drop it below? Offer to help me in world or tell me as much as you know about it, ty! I'm new to the whole mesh thing and I'm originally a kid so I'm extremely confusedd

Ok...here we go.

Mesh bodies/heads/parts are things you put on to cover up and "replace" your SL default avi. As such, wearing regular system clothes and skins isn't going to work since SL is set up for those to go to the default avi. So, the textures have to be applied via  a hud with a script that talks to the body part, just like the texture change huds for mesh clothing....body parts are "clothing" as far as SL is concerned. Appliers are just that...huds that apply the texture to the worn mesh parts.

Most mesh bodies have the skin, tat, underwear and clothing layers. Designers will usually provide a hud that is script to apply to the proper layers. The Maitreya allows you to choose which layer.

Most female mesh parts, with the exception of Slink and TMP, will use Omega appliers. Omega is a universal applier system, which makes things much easier for designers so they don't have to do seperate appliers for every mesh part out there. Many designers now just do Slink and Omega appliers then some additionally do the TMP appliers, though there is a lot of discussion and controversy about the way the Style Hud works that I won't go into here.