Having difficulty finding the "right" avatar

GlenHagen

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3325 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Finding an avatar that looks similar to my real life looks has definitely been the hardest thing with SL so far. I've spent many thousands of Lindens on various avatars/skins on the MP that didn't work out -- some where nice actually, but had some important issues I couldn't fix.

Well, I'm new to this. So any help or pointers would be highly appreciated. Thanks. :)

You can avoid spending money on things before you are sure they work by getting demos and trying them before you buy.  If no demo is offered on MP go to the inworld store.  If no demo in the store or there is no store, don't buy it.  There are plenty of body components that do offer demos.

As far as matching your avatar to your RL self it is possible but takes time and some looking around.  Shape and skin work together to create the look of your avatar.  Try to find a skin that looks close to you and either has a modifiable shape that comes with it or that has a 'style card' telling you where to get the one pictured.  Once you get those, you can tweak the shape to make it closer to your RL body. Shapes are not hard to modify or even create yourself.  Just be sure to make a copy to mod so you have the original to fall back on if you mess up. 

There is a wide range of eyes and hair available so you shouldn't have a problem finding those. Try hair demo's first.  Eyes sometime offer them too, but not always.  Eyes though look pretty much as pictured though.

I never recommend full avatars, for several reasons. For one thing, unless you custom order, it's extremely unlikely you'll find a full avatar that looks like you. 

Do try as many demos as possible. If you can't try, don't but. That way, you're not spending thousands of Lindens on something you won't use.