RESOLVED Help with Release Notes, updates and my viewer issue

LoriLexa

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3710 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm new to Release notes, I was having an issue in the recent past and someone sent me the exact page of the release notes and I downloaded it (problem was fixed). Now I have the same problem again so I went to the Release Notes site but I went to the main page instead. Now I see a ton of different ones. I found the issue after looking through a bunch of them. (My issue is that my fps drops to almost 0 when I open chat)

My questions are,

Before I learned about this, I would just update my viewer when there were updates:

The new update for the viewer is 3.7.1.286557

The release notes with the fix for my issue is: 3.7.2286708

So, do I download the update then the release notes? OR Do I just download the Release notes?

Have any of you downloaded all of these Release notes? There are so many of them.

Is it ok that I downloaded just the Release note that fixes my problem? 

Any other basic info you can tell me?

I'm so confused, thank you for your help

you only need to download the viewer that shows a fix for your problem.

if you see more than one candidate with fixes or features you would like, you will have to decide what is more important for now, since you can only log in with one at a time.

all those release channel viewers are in a contest. the one with the best track record on stability and bug reports wins. when there is a winner, it becomes the main viewer. all the other candidates add the winning features and fixes to their own, and the contest starts again. so sooner or later we get all those fixes in one package.

(i do tend to try them all but this is not necessary, i'm just weird like that.)

Alwin Alcott wrote:

ehm.. you don't download release notes.... a bit useless to download explanation what has changed.