Conducting a survey on Second Life

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3425 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi everyone I am a Graduate Student at the University of West Georgia studying Virtual behavior and I am looking for a way in which to conduct my survey in Second Life. Unfortunatley I have no funding at all from my Univeristy and I was curious if there are any free or low cost resources I can utilize to conduct my survey. 

The most productive is to take your avi into SL and start making some friends---go ahead and declare in your profile that you are a student researcher.  When folks have had a chance to get to know you, you can pass them a note card with a link to psychdata (or whatever online service your university provides) along with preliminary informed consent information (general purpose of the study and such).

Google "Simon Evans" at the London School of Economics and read the methodology sections of his papers.

What I can suggest you NOT do is come on the forums and say "Hi, I'm a student conducting a survey and please fill this out". Most of the forum dwellers will either berate you, say horrible things to you or ignore you completely...myself included.

If you are studying behavior, the best way is to get your avatar out there and exist inworld. Don't be shy...say hello, join some groups, meet people, make friends....

I do like the idea of putting something on your profile that you're a student looking for information, but that could turn people off right away. You need to let them know that you're also interested in meeting people and finding out about SL.

Good luck