You are currently in the Forum Archive. All content within this area is Read-Only and cannot be modified. Active Forums can be found here.
Honored Resident
Julia Tiraxibar

How do I script a random gift giver for a chemistry assignment?

Hi, I'm looking for help in scripting an object that will give a random object to one person.  I'm a chemistry prof at Texas A&M University, who is using Hiro Sheridan's Molecular Rezzor to create many different molecules using VSEPR theory (It's OK if you don't know what I'm saying).  I want my students to click on the object (the "giver") and randomly get only one of many molecular rezzer boxes with a preordained molecule in it as their assignment/quiz.  I do want the ability to reset it so that a student can get another one if something goes wrong with the assignment.  If you want to see what I'm doing, go here:

http://slurl.com/secondlife/12th%20Man/210/238/26    If anyone can help me, that would be great.  I am only a rudimentary beginner in scripting.

Wendy 

Pete Olihenge

Re: How do I script a random gift giver for a chemistry assignment?

Reply to Julia Tiraxibar - view message

A few questions, for clarification:

If something goes wrong with the assignment, does the student need to be able to go back and get the same molecule again?

Will the student, at some later time, be given another assignment, requiring a different random molecule?

Must each student get a different random molecule?

Roughly how many students would be using the giver, and need keeping track of (assuming the answer to any of the above is yes)?

New Resident
Grated Romano

I know this doesn't exactly help, but you sound like a great chemistry teacher. Keep up the creative work & good luck with your scripting.

Void Singer
Solutions: 64

feeling bored, here ya go...

/*//( Script Start )//*/

integer gIntBoxes;
list    gLstAssignment;
list    gLstStudent;

default{
    state_entry(){
        gIntBoxes = llGetInventoryNumber( INVENTORY_OBJECT );
    }