build a mesh for second life?

JackRipper666

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4560 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi I'm new to building full avatars or meshes, but I been spending lots of time trying to figure out the process of how you go from a high poly count model, that is I guess textured with polypaint using zbrush but working also alongside photoshop with Goz. What I am trying to get at is let's say I have a model that is 3 million polys, then I polypaint it and also use photoshop. After that what would be the process of starting to get it in Second Life? I know I need to either do retopology with zbrush, or use the decimation z plugin. Or also I have 3D coat could use that to. But I'm kinda lost is polypainting, is that like ptex from mudbox? Where some how you can save out a file and use that file to bake in textures ontop of a low poly count model? An you have to have a UV map already built I'd assume for the low poly count model. I was thinking I could use something like unfold 3d to do that. But also what confuses me is this normal map. Is that needed? Because I read it's just about adding more details to your model using fake lighting, such as bumps an dents. Reason I ask is I'm trying to simplify the process first before I go into doing rigging, animations. So if anyone can just tell me the process of going from mesh to fully modeled and textured avatar. Then I can worry about doing animations and rigging later. I know there is lots of ways this can be done but just a clear method as what's required no matter what programs you use.

Example :
1. Build a mesh in Maya or Zbrush
2 retopologize it or decimate in zbrush or 3Dcoat
3. build a UV map with unfold3d or zbrush uv master plugin.
4. then polypaint in zbrush/photoshop or use ptex with mudbox.
5. then save out some how a ptex file or not sure how with zbrush save out a polypaint file.