Uploading Mesh Feet 776 LI?

Zoe Madrigal

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3547 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello! I'm new to Blender and have created my own feet for my avatar. I have successfully rigged them (I believe) and want to bring them into SL to test.

I go into Build, Upload, Model, Chose .dae of my feet, and then the chaos happens.

My SL crashes, or it allows me to ALMOST upload them.

When it allows me to almost upload them, I name my model, go to Upload options, I choose Include skin weight. I then go back to Physics and lower lowest, low and medium values. When I click calculate weights and fees it tells me my feet of 25,386 verts in Blender (should be about 2 prims in SL) has a LI of 776!!!

I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong or how to upload them without lowering the LOD too much as I really like how they look as is.

Thank you in advance!

Reduce the topology in a major way.  25,000+ vertices for just feet is insane.  The file size will be large which is why it will be taking a long time to upload and appear to crash.

As a good start, make them look great without using the subsurf modifier, which is so often used to take just about any object and spank it to death in an effor to make the item look "nice and smooth and rounded".

• Like 1

Thank you for your reply!

I know it's a lot for feet, I just don't want to undo all the detail spent making them! If that's the only option than of course I'll have no choice. I guess I could reduce down one trial pair and see if it even works in world. =)

• Like 1

Maybe the huge LI in your case might be due to your physics shape. Maybe you just create a simple cube (or even a simple Tetrahedron and use that as physics shape for your feet. That should be more than enough to reduce the physics costs significantly.

As a sidenote: I believe you can get very feet with 10 times less faces...

• Like 2