Shadow mapping?

Antumbra

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3654 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So is there anyway i can make a shadow map with lights instead of ambient occlusion? since ambient occlusion doesn't work with the scene lights. I don't wanna do ambient occlusion for shadow mapping cuz it doesn't work for me it's usually always all white or all black and it doesn't help. So I set up some lights in the scene and I really like the way the shadows and lights look on my object so is there anyway I can export it as a shadow map? here's a pic of my object with the lights on it. I really like the way the light hits it so is there anyway I can export it like that? with the lights on it and shadows on it? thanks!1148912_730833213614395_90034652_n.jpg

Should be a way! :matte-motes-big-grin: but I'm pretty new to Blender and I still do that in 3DS Max.
I mean: If I can do it in 3DS Max, I'm pretty sure there is a way in Blender

PS: Sorry if I'm not giving you the answer or solution; but I wondered this myself, because I want to migrate to Blender asap.

Edit: This is what I found with a quick search. I'll bookmark this too for future reference :matte-motes-bashful-cute-2:

https://www.google.com.ar/#q=blender%20shadow%20map%20bake

If you just want to bake shadows then choose Shadow instead of Ambient Occlusion from the Bake mode menu.

If you want to give Ambient Occlusion another try have a look at messages 3 and 4 from this thread

http://community.secondlife.com/t5/Mesh/Need-advice-buildings-in-blender/m-p/2368791#M24858

Set the samples to 5 then play around with Distance and Strength until you find something you like.

Try for example setting both Distance and Strength to 0.2 to start with and then increasing or decreasing one or the other of them and baking.

With the sample set to 5 it will only take a couple of seconds so experimenting won't take too long.