Questions re Maya 2014 & uploading Mesh to SL

Amilia Zabaleta

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3521 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Posted this in another thread, but thought I'd start it anew to see if I can get more input.  

...(was very happy to find out about)  re. direct export to .dae files in Maya 2014.

Having said that, I'm having loads of trouble with the Maya 2014 to SL transition on my new, fabulous and expensive machine.  I am trying to figure out if it's a Windows 8 issue, an "old files into new" issue (the "export to OBJ, then reimport" scheme), or a material/LOD issue.  Or did  I forget to check the right box when I reinstalled 2014 on the new machine?

I did copy over my old settings into Maya 2014 - so that part is working right.  The biggest problem has been that the steps that worked pre-new machine aren't working anymore.  Of course I'm still learning, but what could be so radically different at this point?  The two most difficult issues have been getting the following warnings when I export to Collada:

"The plug-in will tessellate meshes with smooth mesh preview according to corresponding preview division levels maya error message"

and:  "While reading or writing a file the following notifications have been raised.  Warning: Null not supported by COLLADA. Node tiarabasetrial will lose its geometric information. The node transforms will be saved."

And then when trying to upload to SL: "material of model is not a subset of reference model sl"

Any insights (constructive, please) would be much appreciated.  I want to get back in the groove.  I guess the main question is, is there a way to "wipe clean" the model to get it to work?  Much thank yous in advance..

It has been a couple of days...