Material Count is too High

Chellie Sholokhov

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3635 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm still fairly new to blender and rigging, what I can find for help is on youtube. I had made something but once it was finished and such, it said there was a material count of 9, when you are only allowed 8 to upload to SL?  I'm not really sure where to go to fix this or anything online. I used decimate and smooth. I have removed vertices. It remains the same. 

Any suggestions on where to look to learn to change this? 

The material count has nothing to do with the density of your mesh.  BTW "decimate" is definitely not the best way to lower poly count :D  LOL

ANYWAY -- "materials" (in blender) are what you define for an area so far as textures go. It gets complicated but you can have 8 materials on an item and STILL have only one ambient map -- meaning you could put ALL your textures on ONE png or tga and upload. So having different materials simply (well maybe not so simply) means that you can use SELECT FACE to add different textures to different parts of your build. It also let's you make some faces (faces can be several parts of a mesh -- they don't need to be contiguous) shiny or add specular or normal maps TO THAT AREA).

A big subject. If you post a photo of what you are making, folks can help more.

IF you really NEED 8 materials on one object then the thing to do would be to upload PIECES of the mesh (so not join all parts before uploading). If you upload in 2 pieces you could have as many as 18 16 (SO the end of my day)  materials. Most of the time you don't need that many materials unless it is a very complex build.

That's a start. Look up DEFINING BLENDER MATERIALS (or something like that and see if you can find a recent YouTube that explains it.     Here is one that I learned from: http://vimeo.com/channels/blendervideotutorials/44842113