Help with uploading mesh from Blender

0athenais0

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3441 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello All. I hope someone out there can help me figure out a problem I'm having with Blender because it's starting to make me frustrated.

I am very new to creating. I have been working with Blender for the past few days and have really learned a lot. I have been creating simple objects. For instance, I made a chair and a bowl from two tutorials I watched. Problem is, when I export them as collada and upload them to SL, they NEVER look like the finished product in Blender. As an example, I followed a tutorial and created a bowl. When I upload it to SL, it looks like the shadowed area around the bowl (you can see in the screenshot I post, it looks like a trapezoid or something). Even with other objects that don't have that "shadow" in Blender, they upload distortedly.

For the table I created (which I know is perfect for what it is, I followed tutorial exactly), it won't even let me upload. I get a DAE parsing error. I've researched this error and everything others online suggested does not fix the problem. I was able to open the dae file in AC3D, which I am not going to use in the future, and was able to upload it from there into Second Life.... but then again the table looked distorted and seemed to be missing pieces.

I'm trying to keep calm and not get irritated, but I am really trying to learn this program and develop as a builder and NOTHING i create, nothing, looks as it should when I upload. I would really appreciate any help. I am completely new and not used to technical terms, so please bear with me. :matte-motes-bashful-cute-2:

I've attached two screenshots. First is the bowl in Blender, the other is what I get when I upload the model.

Thank Youbowl.jpgshape.jpg