Having trouble rigging clothing Maya help required please.

Vtrix

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3472 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Ok, So I have been trying to learn how to make clothing for secondlife for what seems like forever. I know how to rig, do weight paints, and all of that jazz in Maya. Heck I have a degree in animation. My problem occurs when I try to upload it to secondlife. I've never tried to upload anything to a game before this.  I have had all sorts of issues with that, the most recent one being that DAE parsing issue thing. I don't know if I'm just starting with the wrong skeleton or what. I've been using the link you can find on the wiki to aquire the file for the rig to use. I'm using Maya 2015, and the Firestorm viewer. I've been exporting things as a DAE. I'm just not sure what is going on. If some one could direct me to a tutorial or something along those lines or if you have something for me to try that would be awesome, thanks.

I am still with 2014 version and never had iussue exporting the rigged dae.

With previous versions there were a problem due to the fact that if you used more than one material to your mesh then the upload could have failed due to exporter problems so the workaround was to use the free maya fbx export tool to make the dae ( this was a valid help for versions previous 2014).

You talked about "right bones" did you use the secondlife skeleton zip or at least if you made your own did you follow its names?

http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Mesh/Rigging_Fitted_Mesh

That I know max has a "buggy dae" that must be fixed manually editing the text; maya has always been fine.

Something that you may want to try is ( if you own still 2014 try its export,hoping that this isn't a bug for 2015 versionthat I'ven't tried yet so couldn't give more specific help)