Distorted Mesh?

Spinell

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3642 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I cannot find an explanation as to why this is happening.

I made a mesh avi in blender and rigged it using avastar. The uploaded it into the SL beta grid (skin weights and joint positions). And then noticed something very strange when I focused on the face. See if you can spot the difference:

Blender:

face 1.png

SL:

face 2.png

Why is this happening? I tried messing with the shape: first I tried one with all the values set to 50. Then I tried the shape I used to adjust avastar in the beggining, before rigging. But nothing.

The rigging of the mesh works fine. I didn't notice anything abnormal. I then thought this might have something to do with collision bones, but I've never used them before. And I did a classic rig, not something for fitted mesh (still haven't tried this at all yet).

Anyone care to guess why this is happening?

I hate that I can't edit. But put blender in perspective and use the proportional editing tool and adjust to gibe you.more human like results. Numpad 5 to switch to perspective and O to enable proportional editing

.scroll wheel to determine how much it effects. (Also the blue circle at the bottom + next to that is the way it effects)

Wish I could edit on mobile or do more detailed replies :P

Oohh, I see. Yes, when I change views with number 5, it does look very strange, more similar to how it looks in SL.

Now, can you explain to me why this happens and how I can have the mesh look the same in perspective as it does in ortho?

What you see is what you get when you put a small focal length camera lens up someones nose

In SL increase the focal length, press Ctrl+0 a few times and step back a few steps

:smileysurprised::):smileyvery-happy:

Spinell wrote: