Confused about land

LoveAshley89

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3130 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I just upgraded to a premium account & i wanted to buy mainland to own, NOT RENT. I am unable to participate in action to buy land from Lindens because I am less than 14 days old & i am confused about how buyng land from a resident or group works?

1) if i buy a land from group then does that mean i an only a RENTER and i pay the group weekly or monhly?

2) if i buy from group or resident It says i have to pay Lindens. After I pay the lindens to the resident or group then is the land mine only now? to own??

3) I havent used my 512 land yet so by buying land from resient or group will I be charged for the tiers too??

4) how do I know if i am buying land for rent or to own? Some residents and group afdvertise (Land for sale) but i have saw some that advertise weekly linden charges??

I am new to this and I have found a land I really like but i don't want to get in trouble and buy something without even knowing exactly what  I am buying. =)

When you "buy" land from auctions or from an individual member or group you simply buy the RIGHTS to PAY RENT to Secondlife or to a landlord.

The price of rent you have to pay pay to LL is shown in the URL bellow.

The price of rent you have to pay to a landlord depends on their policy, usually its cheaper than secondlife.

So, for to make it clear.... you will ALWAYS pay rent, no mutter what.

http://secondlife.com/land/pricing.php

cheers

beethros Karas

@LoveAshley89, just to clarify things a bit: the difference from buying land versus renting land is a bit blurred in SL.

When you rent land from another user or group you effectively rent land from them.

When you buy land from another user, group or Linden Lab you actually buy the right to use the land but ultimately the owner of the land is always Linden Lab.