Color blending script(s)

Doogz Weston

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3624 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I was hoping I could get help on an idea I have.  I want to be able to click on 2 objects then have a 3rd object change to the blended color of the 2.  Any help on how to accomplish this or guiding me to where to go for help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you Dora for the reply but there is a problem.  I used the llGetColor in the 2 objects I need blended but when I use llSetColor in the 3rd I get a syntax error when I used the below part of code.  I tried to divide (color1 +color2) by 2 as well and came up with same error.  I hope to find a solution.  I am going to keep looking and trying but any help is still very appreciated.

vector color_blended = 0.5*( color1 + color2);

I tried using this.  Yes, I am not good with scripts so what I tried may make you laugh so bare with me.  I have gained a basic understanding of scripts but writing them causes problems.

vector color1;

vector color2;

{
touch_start(integer num)
{
llSetColor(0.5*( color1 + color2);
}
}

You can't do mathematics when creating global variables, so in this script color_blended will always give an error, and is not actually needed since the calculation is done in the llSetColor function, I think you can delete the color_blended line completely.

Also you have to specify the face to be colored, and close the second parenthesis at the end of the llSetColor function:

llSetColor(0.5*( color1 + color2), face);

You can replace face with the face number, or with ALL_SIDES if you just need to change the color of the whole object.

With those corrections you shouldn't get any error, although I'm not sure how the color1 and color2 variables will be filled, so far this script will only turn your object black, you might eventually need a listen event if your objects are not linked.

Four suggestions: