Inworld

• entries
  • comments
  • views

Contributors to this blog

Gratitude Guest Blogger: Arria Perreault

Linden Lab

The Monastery: A Dream Comes True

My name is Arria Perreault. I am a citizen of the Confederation of Democratic Simulators, a democracy in the virtual world of Second Life. I am involved in the cultural life of the community, being curator of the Monastery — a place dedicated to spirituality, knowledge, and wisdom in Second Life.

Oz_nL7DFEH6ahf6K9446FMDjZ4uCq5N-HK6tMGYgsCiIagH_5E749Yu7PXpDgsPTTOLZwn2wp4jiGTGm9r_TdtNLh1qydFKVMYBlp0GUFz8uLAKKCB4

In 2006, I came to Second Life because I was interested in experimenting with the concept of virtual museums. As I have a degree in Archaeology, I joined the Confederation of Democratic Simulators (CDS) because it hosted the Roman city of Colonia Nova. There I opened my first exhibition in a tiny house, where I had only 54 prims. This proved very challenging. I thought about the need for another place to create better exhibitions.

I could have built my own private place. As my house was in a democratic community, however, it seemed more interesting for me to create a place open to everyone. In 2007, the CDS planned to add a sim between Colonia Nova and Neufreistadt: Alpine Meadow. This new sim would be between a Roman colony and a Bavarian city of the Middle Ages. I imagined that a monastery could fit perfectly there between them.

dYdTF9MMXWQFw4F2XB-W6DBO5FZHXsLfQEzu7jOrG2AAaA4oWVHSDg9znkembHiDqgtnBF16VDUwe7ryMLkkYd04bg_EXCz19HtJVm885XGblLRxHdU