You are currently in the Forum Archive. All content within this area is Read-Only and cannot be modified. Active Forums can be found here.
Maxine Kohime

What causes lag?

Im not very technical, so, please, tell me, what causes lag? Scripts? Avatars? Textures? Let me know, please. Maybe you could it explain it a bit. *smiles*

An advise how to fight lag would be also very appreciated. Thank you!

viewer 2.0..the browser that scares you away...
Lindal Kidd

Re: What causes lag?

Reply to Maxine Kohime - view message

All of those things cause lag.

There are two basic types of lag:  Server side lag and viewer lag.  They both look the same to you, but they have different causes.

Server side lag is caused by things that tax the resources of the server (computer) running the region simulator.  Things like too many scripts, too many avatars (40 is generally the maximum you can get into a regular region).  Too many physical objects, physical objects that are too large (physical megaprims).  Sometimes other servers, like the asset servers that manage inventory items, can have problems too.

One type of lag in particular is the "freeze" or "rubber-banding" that can happen when an avatar arrives in the region and any Mono scripts they're wearing start up.  This one is a bug that (we're told) will be fixed soon.

Viewer side lag happens either because your internet connection gets maxed out, or your graphics card is overworked.  This can happen because of too many high-resolution textures, too many sculpties, too many flexiprims, too high a draw distance, graphics preferences set to a level that overtaxes your graphics card, etc.

SL places a heavy load on its own servers, on the internet pipelines connecting everyone, and on residents' computers.  It's very data-intense, and the more realistic it becomes (whether that's your avatar's appearance or features, or the look of the world around you) the greater the load.