griefing

Mirika Drasilova

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3398 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

It's unlikely we'll ever hear back from the Lab directly about what actions they take in response to griefing complaints. I used to think we should, but now I think such feedback is more likely to result in all kinds of trouble, including both increased griefing and increased false reports of griefing.

More anonymous reports of governance actions, like the old police blotter items, might have the same effect, I'm not sure. It would be interesting to know the whole rationale behind why the Lab has changed its practices over the years, but those are hard-learned lessons, and they may even consider them trade secrets.

Mirika Drasilova wrote:

Over the last year I have raised at least three complaints about griefing at the sim I am an admin with and have not heard a anything from Linden Labs about the cases.

With a new CEO in place will this change?

You know what they say, Mirika, actions speak louder than words!

Linden Lab's new CEO has only 24 hours in each day like the rest of us, and I reckon he could spend 48 of those (at least) dealing with all the reports of griefers that Linden Lab must be receiving, so, I also reckon it is very unlikely that their policies regarding on what they feed back to us in this respect will change.

Just like in real life, there will always be petty criminals, noise nuisances, litter droppers, people who refuse to scoop their dogs' poop, and always reports will be made to the necessary authorities, who again, do not generally report back to individuals just because it is very time-consuming.  But we do take heart when we see an area has been cleaned, a noisy individual has become conspicuous by their absence, etc.