Starting a subletting /Rental homes business

Kerick

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3564 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello all I am new to the land business and had the idea of renting land out from a major realtors.  The idea is I rent out land then places houses on them, 1024 sq to start was thinking of homes that are no larger then 35X35 and around 230 prims to 300 and rent them out for 550 to 600 .  I have done this before and lost a lot of L$ because I did not do the research. This time is different I have looked into many property  and what others are charging for prims and size of lots. My concern is how to get people into my homes once I set up shop and what I need to be area of as far as responsibility's  as a land renter. I can not afford to buy large lots at this time, I am hoping to start small then expand it out. I am just looking for support or advice from you folks that know more. What to do and not to do, whats a fair price , what to look out for and not get riped off and so on.

Not to discourage you but if you are doing this to make money then try something else. The truth of the matter is that you will only make a profit if you have no vacancy at all times. Realistically this will never happen, you will always have some percentage of your land unrented. Also, keep in mind that most people do not want to rent land from a third party when they can go and rent directly like yourself and be able to own the land, rez their own houses (not what you choose) set up their own radio streams (not yours) and have their own privacy and rules in their own land.

However if you still want to rent homes, rather than land, then try starting some sort of an RP community.