Complete newbie here - I need some help :(

IOASam

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3462 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello all,

I'm new to SL (as you can probably tell), and although I've done alot of research I still have some questions.

1) If I was to upgrade to premium and also purchase a large piece of land with a house, how would I cancel my tier payments if I wanted to leave SL after 6 months for example? Would I be charged indefinitely unless I could sell the land? Or is there a way I can simply cancel all second life payments in one go and downgrade to basic without any outstanding charges? I'm worried that I'll get caught up in a contract and have to pay land charges even if I have no further interest in SL.

2) What day of the month does SL take the money out of your RL account?

3) How do you store vehicles?

4) I read somewhere that even if you buy a piece of land privately (not mainland), you still don't own that piece of land. Is this true?

5) I've seen alot of tutorials that say you need additional software in order to "rez"(!?) a house before you put it on your land? I am going to be honest and say I have no idea what this means. Can't I just buy a  prefab house and just put it onto a piece of land I've purchased?

Sorry for all the questions, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Sam

1. If you have land and you want to leave, or go down to a basic account, you simply need to abandon the land. Then you don't own it and you won't be charged tier. But, you will be charged tier from the financial month you abandon it in, because you've had it during that month.

2. There is no set date for all. Whatever date LL puts on your account oage, that's your date.

3. You can store anything in your inventory, but if you mean like in a garage, you can get a garage and rez them inside. Whatever is rezzed counts for your prim allowance, of course.